LBC: How I’ve Changed In Lolita Over The Last Year

lbc

How have I changed in lolita during 2014…? I’m not quite sure at the moment, but let’s take a look at my style throughout the year.

nye

On New Year’s Eve (technically 2013, I suppose), I wore a sweet lolita coordinate with a pastel wig. At the beginning of 2014, it seemed like I was really into sweet lolita. I even incorporated sweet lolita into my cosplays! In mid-January, I cosplayed as Jade Harley (Homestuck) in a sweet lolita coordinate.

But, also in January, I tried out a gothic coordinate:

tumblr_mzzkg8OR7p1sv3vjto2_1280

I wore this coordinate to a local swap meet! The lolita inspiration for cosplay came back again later in January, also for a Homestuck cosplay… I cosplayed as Aradia Megido in a gothic lolita-inspired coordinate. At the beginning of 2014, I was so obsessed with lolita that it snuck into my cosplays!

In February, I also tried the gothic look again:

DSCN6550

Now, let’s fast-forward to summertime (or at least warmer weather)!

For my friend Ashley’s graduation, I wore lots of lolita!

IMG_2587

IMG_0230

IMG_2353

Looking at these photos, you can see one gothic coord, but the other two lean more toward sweet lolita. If you look at what I wore during the summer, it looks like sweet was more common than other styles.

I wore sweet lolita as my chosen coordinate for my first Anime Expo, AX 2014. Lots of pink and red! When my friend Terry and I went to Little Tokyo, I wore a red sweet lolita bodyline JSK (Cinderella Bunny):

inthemirror

(This is a bit random, but I just realized I should write a blog post about that California trip that Terry and I took… It was my first time in California!)

When I went to the Tokyo Rebel/BTSSB grand opening in New York City, I also chose to wear sweet lolita.

beautyplus

I honestly did not even realize how much I wore sweet until I took a look through my photos in order… Wow.

In the fall though, gothic (and maybe even hints of classic?) became more common! At the first local meetup of the fall semester, a fun little picnic, I wore one of my favorite JSKs.

beautyplus

At RuffleCon, I wore mostly dark-colored things. On Day 1, I wore my Chantilly OP. On Day 2, I wore an AATP JSK and Elpress-L bonnet, borrowed from Erica. (I wish I owned that bonnet, but alas…) And of course, I wore my comfy mary-janes the whole weekend.

saturday sunday

For my birthday, I attempted shiro lolita for the first time!

ehhlighting

When I visited my friend Ashley in NYC, I wore dark colors again. We went to meet Akira at Tokyo Rebel, and that was an amazing experience! Here’s a photo of us:

friends

As you can see,our coordinates are almost opposites! I had a lot of fun pulling together this outfit. (Red and black is my favorite color combo… and I love gold accents!) I love that Angelic Pretty skirt I snagged from Mbok!~ (Check out my guide to Mbok if you haven’t seen it yet.)

Before leaving NYC, I wanted to wear one more lolita coordinate! So, I decided to try my hand at a hime-inspired coordinate.

lookdown

My last coordinate of 2014 was from International Lolita Day. I went to Boston for a lovely tea party, and I felt like a princess in my outfit!

ILDwinter

It’s my only Innocent World JSK, and I absolutely adore it! I’m really happy with how this coordinate turned out. But now that I’m thinking about it… Did I change much over the past year? I think my style has become more mature, but I’m not exactly sure. I still like sweet lolita a lot, so even though I haven’t worn it out as much as I did at the beginning of the year, that does not mean I am leaving sweet lolita. To be honest, I do feel less confident in sweet lolita than I do in other styles. When I wore sweet lolita in the fall, it was for sponsorship photos. After taking the photos, I changed out of the coordinate and into casual clothes. Although, I remember I had lots of dance rehearsals at that time, and I cannot wear lolita to dance. Maybe that’s why there were slight changes in the fall and winter.

As for changes in my wardrobe, I think I’ve acquired more brand this year! I used to only have Bodyline and handmade/offbrand pieces. And then I got some Taobao things… And over the past year, I’ve added more Japanese brand pieces to my collection!

What do you think? Can you see any changes in my style from the beginning of 2014 to the end of 2014?

lbc

~Be sure to read other blog posts on this topic for the Lolita Blog Carnival! 

Fire Extinguisher, Libretto-Macabre, Armure de Rose, Sweet Expedition, Enloupakanko,    Oh Velveteena, Violet Lunchell

❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀❀

~Connect with me~

❥❧ Facebook: Cosplay and Fashion

❥❧ Instagram: PearlPeony

❥❧ Tumblr: Personal and Fashion

❥❧ Twitter: TreizeMacarons

❥❧ Vine: Xiao

❥❧ WorldCosplay: Xiao

❥❧ Ask.FM: AskPeony

❀ For sponsor inquiries, please contact me at: missxiaorawr@gmail.com ❀

2 thoughts on “LBC: How I’ve Changed In Lolita Over The Last Year

Leave a comment