In and Out of Lolita

Image

What do I wear in and out of Lolita? Well, let’s start with Lolita fashion!

The major Lolita styles I have stuck with have been Sweet Lolita and Classic Lolita. This is ironic though since when I first found an interest in Lolita fashion, my favorite substyle was Gothic Lolita.  I still really love Gothic Lolita, but it has been difficult for me to find pieces and coordinate outfits for it. It’s really interesting how one’s style develops: I used to dislike Sweet Lolita, but now, I adore it! In general though, I probably wear Casual Lolita the most often. I try to keep to the Lolita silhouette when I do so. You can see some of my full-out Lolita coordinates here.

Out of Lolita… Most of the time, I dress casually and comfortably. I wear a lot of jeans, t-shirts, and sweatshirts. I like to tie my hair back into a ponytail, but if my hair is left down, I like to add a headband. Or a hair clip or two. (I adore mini-bow barrettes!) When I want to dress up a bit, I like to wear vintage clothes that my mother handed down to me. (My mom gave me all of her old clothes… For once, I am grateful that I am an only child!)

Image

This is one of my favorite hand-me-downs from my mom! It’s a really cute blouse and shorts set, but the shorts are really billowy and resemble a skirt. There are also adorable detachable suspenders! The material is awesome; it never gets wrinkled!

Image

Featured here is my favorite blouse that my mom has handed down to me. It’s a pretty peach color, and the fabric feels lovely! It’s a great thing to wear in the summertime. I adore the little details on this blouse, and I want to use it in a Lolita coord someday. I am finding peach hard to coordinate though… So maybe I will wear it with a plain white skirt in the future? We’ll see.

Image

I don’t have many good photos of myself wearing clothes that my mom gave me, but above is an outfit that I really like! Sorry about the terrible photo. Everything I am wearing, even the belt, was from my mom. My mom used to wear things like this! I told my mom that she should still wear them, since they still fit her, but she thinks that she is “too old” to wear clothing like this. Sigh.

Image

Above is another favorite hand-me-down from my mom! I love qipaos… My mom gave me a few of them. ❤ This is the one that fits me the best though! I love the sequin detailing, and the matching hairpiece is so pretty! The hairpiece doesn’t like to stay in my hair though. xD;; I have only worn this once, but I would like to wear it again someday. It feels too formal to wear on a random occasion though, so maybe I will wear to a formal event or ball of some sort in the future.

I also enjoy cosplaying, so if I wear a wig outside of Lolita fashion, it is most likely for cosplay. I also use my real hair for some of my cosplays.

Image

Above is one of my cosplays from AnimeBoston this year: a maid variant of Hatsune Miku (Vocaloid). I love Vocaloid music, and I would love to cosplay as more Vocaloids in the future. So far, I have only cosplayed as variants of Hatsune Miku and Mikuo (the genderbent version of Miku).

Image

Here I am cosplaying Enma Ai the Hell Girl (Jigoku Shoujo)! Standing next to me is my awesome Lolita friend. (I adore her coordinate in this photo!) This was the first time I cosplayed Enma Ai again in a long while. Last time I cosplayed her, I used my real hair. But this time, I revamped the cosplay by styling a wig to fit her character. This worked great since I hated dealing with my real hair last time I cosplayed her.

9034701611_c023bf8f90_c

[EDIT] The photos from the Hell Girl photoshoot are finally up! Above is one of my favorite photos from the shoot.

Image

Sorry about the terrible photo. I can’t seem to find a better photo in my photo library of my Terezi Pyrope cosplay. Outside of anime, I also really love cosplaying Homestuck! (I really need to catch up on Homestuck this summer though…) Terezi Pyrope is my patron troll, and I love cosplaying as her. ❤

I also really love cosplaying as Karkat Vantas (another Homestuck troll)! The gray troll makeup is annoying at times, but it was fun figuring out the best methods for applying the makeup and sealing it. Another Homestuck troll I have cosplayed as is Feferi Peixes. I have cosplayed as a few Homestuck kid characters as well. The above photograph was from a fun casual wintertime photoshoot. Photo credit goes to Micaiah Reid.

If you want to see more of my cosplays, you can check them out on my Tumblr through this tag! The tag has a mix of Lolita and Cosplay though… I was too lazy to make two different tags for them. xD;;

Image

~Be sure to read other blog posts on this topic for the Lolita Blog Carnival! 

Hello Batty, A Sweet Lolita’s Disney Life, Edible Rainbows

2 thoughts on “In and Out of Lolita

    • Thank you very much! I really love my mother’s vintage clothes. They’re so comfortable and easy to care for (I can throw them in the washing machine, and most of them can be dried by machine too).

Leave a comment